March 31 – early Capital Airport photos

Thursday, March 31 — In at111:00 after spending 3 hours moving the rest of the material in the former model workshop into boxes and to  the front door to take to the truck and deliver to airport this morning. Cleaned up the room which will now be used exclusively for writing and will hold every poem, essay, journalism article and newsletter of mine,  plus the Vachel Lindsay files. Then to Secretary of State’s office to renew AKM’s nof-for profit report. Then to airport to unload everything and take it upstairs. Then into my office. Processed pictures from yesterday. Up to Process Room and continued to re-arrange things for an hour. Back to office for prepared fruit for lunch and back upstairs for MAJOR RE-ARRANGEMENT of shelves in Process Room. MAJOR PROGRESS, but I worked like a man possessed and might have hurt something in the lower gastro-intestinal tract, judging from the significant but not debilitating discomfort and color of urine I noticed later in the evening.  Stopped at 6, came back to office to cool down before heading to grocery store and home at 6:30.
Pictures of the Blue Angels and the building that was moved to the airport were taken by others and donated to AKM. I know the small building had more than one business as tenant over about 10 years, including Bisch Airways. When I was a kid on a bicycle, I visited it at least once. The two larger pictures on the bottom were the first terminal which remained for some years after the new one was built. I took these pictures in my late teens. It had a wonderful restaurant, and the Springfield weather station, since moved to Lincoln, IL was also there.. I took the pictures you see here. I was shocked to find it rubble when I visited! I’m still shocked. That space is now occupied by asphalt: rent-a-car parking lots.  Have a nice day.

 

About Job Conger

I am a freelance aviation, business and tourism writer, poet, songwriter. My journalism appears regularly in Springfield Business Journal and Illinois Times. I am author of Springfield Aviation from Arcadia Publishing and available everywhere. As founder/director of AeroKnow Museum (AKM) and a volunteer with American Aviation Historical Society (AAHS), I created this blog to share news about AKM activity and aviation history.
This entry was posted in Capital Airport 50s & 60s, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment